Dogs / Pit Bulls

Is there a media bias against pit bulls?


Whenever you hear about a dog attack, whether toward another dog or a child, do you automatically assume it’s a Pit Bull?  If you answered yes, have you ever asked yourself why?  Why is it when the attack does involve a Pit Bull, the media reports about it ad nauseam? Why don’t we hear about dog attacks involving other dogs like a Lab or Golden Retriever?  I believe the reason is a biased view against Pit Bulls, or any bully breed for that matter.  The media perpetuates fear and the Pit Bull is sensational.  If it’s a bully breed, the dog is automatically labeled a Pit Bull.

Let’s take a look at the 2011 report from the National Canine Research Council.  Based on investigations, their report clearly shows that most of the dog attacks resulted from improper care by the owner, whether through neglect, abuse or isolation.  The common denominator is the human.  It’s always the human.  Dogs are not naturally aggressive, not even the Pit Bull.  Factually, the Pit Bull loves people.  They were bred with that outstanding trait.  Yes, they have a high prey drive but not toward other humans but other animals such as squirrels and cats and Pit Bulls aren’t the only breed to have a heightened prey drive.  Prey drive is not aggression.  This is a cultivated trait to ensure the dog’s temperament as herders, hunters and vermin killers.  Even the Border Collie could not herd sheep without it.  The prey drive comes from a dog’s wolf ancestry.

The tendency to be aggressive results from the environment the owner creates for the dog.  Take Pit Bulls for example.  Sadly, the lowest forms of society tend to be attracted to the Pit Bull mainly because they look tough.  These same people treat the dog poorly and do not bother to properly care for the dog or socialize it.  Aggression is fear magnified.  If that very same dog was placed in a loving household with a responsible owner, you would have a very different dog. Spend some time with a Pit Bull from a happy home and you will see for yourself.

Here’s the report.  National Canine Research Council Report 2011

Make sure to check out the National Canine Research Council’s website.  It’s very informative.

So why the Pit Bull?  Good question.  I’m not sure of the exact answer myself but it does seem that this is what the media wants to play out.  Just last week in Toronto, a woman was walking her Border Collie when a dog came out of nowhere and attacked the dog and killed it.  The Toronto Star shamelessly reported that the dog is a Pit Bull.    The paper also went so far to say that the woman said it was a Pit Bull. However, when you watch any video of her speaking, not once does she say it was a Pit Bull.  On top of that, the dog is nowhere to be found.  When you click on the link to the Toronto Star story, they even posted a picture of the toughest looking Pit Bull that they could find.  Note, that is not the dog wanted in the attack.  The police are still searching for the dog.

What upsets me about this is why can’t the media hold off on saying which breed killed the Border Collie until the dog is found?  What if it wasn’t a Pit Bull?  Maybe it was a horribly abused dog or a dog that was trained to fight other dogs?  The point is that we don’t know.  Until the dog is found, I say we hold off on the accusations.  I also have to wonder if the media will bother reporting if the dog is found and it is in fact not a Pit Bull.

The CBC in British Columbia aired a program on the media bias against Pit Bulls.  I encourage you to listen to it.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Is there a media bias against pit bulls?

  1. Hey there just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text in your
    article seem to be running off the screen in Opera.
    I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue
    or something to do with internet browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to let you know.
    The layout look great though! Hope you get the issue solved soon.
    Many thanks

  2. Today, I went to the beach with my children. I found a sea shell and gave
    it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.”
    She placed the shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.
    She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is completely off topic but I had to tell someone!

  3. I have a pit bull. & I love the breed so much. How could you not love them when one owns your heart? But anytime i here about a dog attack in the media, I immediately assume it’s a pit bull. not because I think that’s the only dog that attacks (obviously it’s not) but because that is the only breed weever hear about attacking anything. so when I hear dog attack my heart sinks knowing that it was probably a pit & they are probably already on the euth list. We need to turn the reputation around & somehow show the world the truth about pits. As i write this, mine is curled up next to, head on my lap, & while she’s snoring away drool is beginning to cover my thigh. she’s the sweetest dog I’ve met. & all the pits I’ve met are the best dogs.

  4. There is ABSOLUTELY a media bias and the dogs cannot be blamed for their neglect, abuse and mistreatment. Pitbulls are the sweetest, most loving dogs. When I was 2, I had to have plastic surgery on my face from the bite of a golden retriever (I hugged the dog, so it wasn’t the dog’s fault), but any dog can and will be aggressive given the right circumstance. At one time, it was dobermans (the 70s or 80s?), then rottweilers, then German shepherds, now pitbulls…it seems that there is always a breed that is demonized.

Comments are closed.